Day Four

Well, day three was sort of a bust.  I did well all day, but then we went to a friend’s house to watch OSU’s bowl game, and I caved under the pressure of pizza and m&m’s.  I had even eaten some spaghetti with marinara at my parent’s house while letting their dogs out- so I wasn’t even hungry!  To be fair, I did at first take the cheese off of a piece of pizza.  Not exactly very vegan, but hey, I was trying.  But then as I walked with my paper plate to the trashcan, the cheese I had scraped off looked so tasty that I ate it.  Huge fail.  And then everyone was eating m&m’s so I gave in and ate those too.

So… what did I learn?  Well, I’m going to have to plan to bring food with me to gatherings if I know there is nothing for me to eat and it’s a potluck. If it’s not the sort of thing you bring food to, I will have to eat before I go. And I’m going to have to give myself some major pep talks prior to going to social situations.  It didn’t help that I didn’t tell anybody at this get-together that I was going vegan.  They have all known me to make changes like this to my diet over the years and I just didn’t want to hear from anybody last night about how I was turning into a tree hugger again.  But I feel like if I had said something, it would have held me accountable.  If I’m out there in all my vegan glory, it would be pretty hard to cheat in front of people I have just touted the benefits of being vegan too.

That is part of the game plan.  The other part is creating a meal plan, which I did tonight!  So proud of myself.  Chris and I sat down and made a meal plan for the whole month.  Now I will just need to write out my weekly grocery lists and I will be set this month.  I feel like this might really help me stay on track.  I plan on shopping on Saturdays or Sundays for groceries, as my new week starts on Sundays.  I feel like I added a nice mix of entrees so I won’t grow bored with what I’m eating.

January 2013 Monthly Meal Planner

I will tell you that I am not much of a recipe follower.  There are a few things on the list I will use a recipe for inspiration, but for the most part I just fly by the seat of my pants.  It makes shopping easier for me as I can buy groceries that are on sale and produce that looks fresh.  I’m going to try and take pictures of the food I make and write ingredients just in case I want to go back and recreate something, or if any of you reading this want to try something I’ve made.  And for the recipes I am going to use I will make sure to link to the blog or website I’ve taken it from.

Today I did very well.  Here is what I ate:

Breakfast- Green Smoothie

Lunch- Beans and Rice

Dinner- Whole Grain Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce made with Spinach and Olives

Snack- Chips and Salsa. clementine

Owen had exactly what I had for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the addition of oatmeal for his breakfast. He had puffs as a snack.

 

Well, I am off to bed.  Xoxo

Leave a Reply

