First day as a “sort of vegan”

Well, today is the beginning of a new year, and a new beginning in my life as a vegan.  I’m looking forward to making this change, even though I know it’s going to be a challenge.  I have already started thinking about all of the potential mishaps that may befall me as the year goes on…  holidays, birthday parties, cookouts at friend’s houses.  All events which dairy and meat are readily available, and people’s potential comments and questions about my new eating habits will be in full force.  But I am still ready to do this, even though I know in addition to my concerns above, I will also be battling my own demons.  I have attempted to go vegan before several times, but have failed.  One slice of cheese quickly becomes two, three, four slices of cheese.  Milk in cereal starts happening not just once in awhile but everyday.  And before I know it, I have not just tripped my way out of being vegan, I have done a  cannonball back into a virtual swimming pool  of meat, dairy, and eggs.  I’m not really sure yet what my plan is to avoid failing again, but I’m sure I will come up with a game plan and post about it soon.  For now, on the first day of the new year, my motivation will drive me.

I said “sort of vegan” in my title for this post because I realize that just by having leather in my home, I can’t call myself fully vegan.  And besides leather, I’m sure there are a host of other products in my home that are committing vegan fraud.  Hopefully with time I will get to a point where most of these things are eliminated from my life, but for now my focus is just going to be on eliminating animal products from my diet.

I have decided to make a list of things that I would like to happen in my life as a result of becoming a vegan, and then look back  in 365 days to see whether or not these changes have come to life.

-Lose weight (20 lbs)

-Reduce stress

-Feel a more spiritual connection to the earth

-Increase energy

-Improve relationships

-Become a more motivated individual

I may go back and add to this list later, but for now these are the major things that come to mind.  I’m really excited about accomplishing these goals, and I truly hope that they all come to fruition.  I should mention that while my husband is supportive of my decision to become a vegan, he is not interested in making this change in his own life.  He has agreed that he will cut back on his meat intake, and he doesn’t mind sharing in the task of making vegan meals with me, so that’s a huge plus.  My Mom is also making this change, so having her support and encouragement throughout this process will be a valuable asset as well.  As for whether I’m going to subject my ten month old to this way of living, well yes, I probably will.  I won’t make the decision for him as he gets older, but for now he will hopefully be eating the way I do.  His diet is being supplemented by formula in addition to my breastmilk right now, so that will be a challenge until I get something else figured out, but eventually I would like to wean him off of that.  But that’s a post for another day.

Well, I’m going to sign off on my very first blog post. If you are reading this, I hope the new year brings you joy.  I hope that it brings you blessings and sweet memories.  And I hope that it brings me to vegandom.

 

Leave a Reply

